top of page
Search
  • Pastor Jim French

The Miracle of Pentecost


There are many things about God that amaze me. I am amazed that the Creator of the universe would love us so much that he would become a man in order to save us from our sins. I am amazed that he would do so knowing that he would have to endure the pain, humiliation and shame of the cross and even more so, the spiritual pain of becoming the very thing he hates; sin (2 Cor 5:21). I am amazed that our Lord could live among us for 33 years, yet never sin. But most of all I am amazed that the Lord would choose to live inside of me, one who sins and does that which he hates; sins (1 Cor 3:16; 1 Cor 6:19).


When I came to the realization that when I received Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior the Holy Spirit took up residence within me it changed my whole outlook on life. I and every believer in the world carries the presence of the Holy Awesome God inside of us! Somehow, in a way we cannot understand, when we said yes to Christ as our Lord and Savior we were born anew and he came to live inside of us. The very thought of this still rocks my world. That was the miracle of Pentecost. Before Pentecost the Holy Spirit was “with” people or “rested on” people, but on that wonderful day Holy Spirit came to live inside of 120 believers gathered together in prayer (Eze 36:27; John 14:17). I'm still amazed that God would do this and I'm sure that Jesus' followers were too.


Knowing this truth changes us. Suddenly we look at the world in an entirely different light. Everywhere we walk we take the living God with us. That is why Paul was so angry with the Corinthian Church and their sexual immorality. In 1 Cor 6:15 he says, “Do you not know that your bodies are members of Christ? Shall I then take the members of Christ and make them members of a prostitute? Never!” Paul is angry with some of the Corinthians because they are taking he who lives inside of them (God) and sinfully joining him with a prostitute.


Everywhere we go we take the presence of God with us. Every prayer we say is a prayer offered not only by us but by the Holy Spirit. Every word we say is infused with his power. This is an incredible privilege, but also a great responsibility.


The world needs the One who lives inside of us. Might I suggest that before your next visit to Walmart you ask the Holy Spirit to remind you of his presence as you shop. Ask him to see the shoppers around you from his perspective. Ask him how you can pray for them and to give you “God moments” as you shop.


You and I are commissioned to carry God into the world and to advance the Kingdom of God by carrying his presence wherever we go (Joshua 1:3). We are to do nothing less than transform the world.


Shalom!

Pastor Jim+ §

0 views

Recent Posts

See All
Psalm 107-20.png
Psalm 118-17.png

About Me

I am an ordained minister in my local non-denominational church, Hope Chapel, in East Greenbush, NY and in the Anglican Church of North America.  I have been involved in the healing ministry for nearly 20 years and I have been privileged to see the Lord do some amazing things.  It is my passion to see the body of Christ walk in the fullness of divine health and to demonstrate Jesus' love by "Healing the sick, raising the dead and casting our demons" (Matthew 10:8).  God wants you well!

Contact Pastor Jim

Join our mailing list to be notified of new articles

Thanks for subscribing!

Powered and secured by Wix.

    bottom of page